Chilean Spanish Language

Introduction to our particular Spanish

I really wonder to know if you have been practising some Spanish since I am gone.  If you haven’t, don’t worry.  I will be more than glad to teach you some common Spanish phrases and sentences for you to learn.   They are meant to be used with me during our conversations by phone, and of course, if you have the chance to meet some Spanish speaker around there.

Lección uno: Hablando por teléfono

It should be quite convenient for you to learn how to answer the phone whenever I call you, right?  There are plenty of phrases you can use, so pay attention 🙂  –

ring

¡ring-ring! ♫

I. Saying “Aló?”

There is a very easy expression you can use when answering the phone.  We usually say: “Aló?”   it can be used for both speakers in order to make sure there is someone on the line.  it is also a good strategy to hear the other speaker’s voice and confirm you called the right number, even before asking… jaja!

phonegrl

Alóoo!!!? ♥

note: it can be used in both formally and informal situations, so don’t worry about when to use it.

II. Quién es?

The second step is to ask how am I talking with in order  to confirm if we are talking with the right person, don’t you think so?  Then you have to say: “¿Con quién hablo?” ~ Literally translated, it is “With whom/who speak?”  don’t forget that, like Korean language, we tend to omit the subject of sentences, just like when I say – Te amo mucho (I love you a lot) – “I” is not present.  The other speaker can reply to this :  “Soy Matías“.  If the person also wants to know who is calling, he can also ask the same question or  “¿Quién es?”  – lit. : Who is it?

If you notice that when hearing the other person’s voice and somebody “else” answered the phone, what you can do is to ask “¿Estará Matías? It literally can be translated as – Would/Will be Matias? – The person will answer yes or not, depending on each situation, and you probably know how to replay to this, right? ( está / No está)

bushphone

¿Aló?... ¿Quién es?

III. Saludando

Now you are completely sure that you are talking with me.  The first thing I do when talking with somebody I really miss  is  to say with a lot of enthusiasm: “¡Kiubo Mina! ¿Cómo estay?” – It means Hi Mina, How are you? – If you are talking with somebody who is not your nene (because I am your nene) you can just say: “¡Hola Matías!,  ¿Cómo estás?”  The answer for this will vary depending on your mood, right? well… the possibilities are:

a) ¡Bakán! (also “muy bien“)  which means that you are very fine!

b) Más o menos, which means literally – so, so

c) Mal, which means that you are not feeling good.

nena al telefono

Kiuuuubo weon! ♫

IV. Qué pasa?

I obviously will ask you why? in order to know what happened.  The Spanish equivalent for this:  ¿Porqué?or “¿Que onda?”  Qué onda is a little bit informal, mainly used when talking with friends or people you have a good and close relationship with.  The normal way to ask is what happened or what’s going on is “¿Qué pasa?

There must be many reasons for being glad or sad, right? Let’s think you are talking with me, so:

a) you are “bakan” because:  “Porque estoy contenta de hablar contigo” (Because I am glad to talk with you) please note that “contenta” is used for women and “contento” is used if the speaker is a man.

b) you can be “mal” because: Porque te extraño mucho ♥ (because I miss you a lot/so much) if you want to sound really like missing someone, you can emphasize “mUUuuuucho.”

Nena

Matías... Te quiero muuuuucho! ♥

V. Disculpa!

Chileans like to interact and talk a lot.  This is part of our South American lively and sometimes cheerful personalities.  I wonder if Koreans like talking on the phone quite a lot.  Most of my friends talk a lot with their “pololas or pololos” for a long period of time.  Personally, I don’t like cellphones because it cannot compare with being in front of the person you are interested in.  I exclusively use my phone for job activities or emergencies.  If I need to see someone, I just pick up my bycicle (or walk) and visit him/her.  And of course, we usually stay talking and talking until very late.  Does the same happen with your friends in your country?

Te extraño!

I miss you muuuuuucho! ♥

VI. No me interrumpas!

Another curious thing you probably realized when speaking on the phone is that we tend to interrupt the other person’ speech.  Please, it is just the way we are.  It is expected for you to do the same just after one of the speakers makes a pause on their speech.  The same happens when I talk to Eric or Nancy Hartung.  If you want somebody to stop talking, you just can say: “¡Cállate weon!” – cállate in English means shut up and weon, will depend on who are you talking to, and your intonation.   If you want to sound formal, you can also say “¿Podrías callarte?” (could you please shut up? – it sounds more polite, doesn’t it?).

note: Always remember that “cállate weon” can be used also when somebody whose presence is unpleasant.  In this case, you are telling him(her) to stop disturbing you, thus you have to be very expressive.  Don’t forget to use your eyebrows just like I taught you!  the secret is in your eyes, show how much unpleasant a person is for you.  vale?

buuu

Ándate a la Xuxa!!

I guess this is enough for now.  I really hope you can take a moment to read this crazy learning approach.  I am totally convinced that you will use these expressions without difficulties.   See you next time

♥   Chao!!

~ by rubiocroft on October 29, 2009.

2 Responses to “Chilean Spanish Language”

  1. I memorized bunch of stuffes that you taough to me hahaha
    I love it, Thanks for posting.
    yo soy vakan.
    porgue estoy contenta de hablar contigo last night.^^

  2. I had no doubt about that. You are the most “bakan” girl I’ve ever met…! That’s why I love you!

Leave a comment