Feliz Navidad

I am really glad you might be spending a great time with your family during “Navidad.” I am very curious to know how do you celebrate these festivities.      

For me, it is not a really special event.  Maybe it is just because I cannot spend this celebration with my family.  They all live in Santiago, as I probably mentioned before.  We mainly have a delicious dinner at home with my brother, sister, mom and dad.     

I invited my mom to go for some shopping to Osorno.  I wanted to buy a laptop because I will need it in order to study languages during this summer, as well as I design some projects for next year.  In addition, I want to have a video conference with you, as soon as you manage to use skype or msn or even yahoo….   I took my mother to eat some delcious food at a very popular restaurant among university students.  It was my present for Xmas.  I am not very good with gifts, so I rather prefer to express my affection by going out somewhere and do something different.       

 
 

   

Jaisson

Mi hermano "Jaisson"

  

 Jaisson is my “little” brother, though he is not little anymore.  When I came back from Aberdeen, I realize he was a real adolescent (with all its implications).  If I want him to behave or to do things right, I need to use psychology a lot.  Reasoning and negotiating is really essential.  I really love him, and I wish I can be a good big brother.    

te quiero

Te Quiero Mina!!!!

  

Me and my brother had a walk during the evening, because I wanted to take a few pictures for you.  I’ve been so busy lately, that I haven’t been able to write some words for you or to take some photos.  We went to the city main square.  The day was great… it was sunny and warm.      

brothers
Saludos Mina-ya!!

 In Chile, your “pololo’s” brother can be called “cuñado.”  You may call him this way, and he can refer to you as “cuñada.”  So, when you come to Chile and you want to greet him or my sister Pía, you can say: !!Hola “cuñado(a)”!!   

Navidad at  home

When we arrived to home, dinner was not done yet.  My mother was listening to Mariah Carey and U2 very aloud (we love music! and rock the house!).  I was helping with the preparations while I played a Back Street Boys cd for her.  She loves them…jajaja..  we always have fun because I encourage her to dance with me and my brother, acting out any artist we listen to.    

The most important part of a Chilean dinner is the cooking of meat.  Many Chileans love meat and to prepare “Asados” (barbecue).   We had lots of fun too preparing everything.  We didn’t eat any fish or seafood this time.        

Cookersa

Cocineros de Asado

  

Once the dinner was done, we sit all together and tried a bit of everything.  Different kind of meats, corn, tomatoes, lettuce, potatoes, cilantro, etc etc….  nothing really special.      

 

salud

Saluuuuud!

  

  But we made some cheers because we are together, and everything seems to be fine! The problem is, I am not good drinking. So I just picked up a juice glass for this ocation…  My family is composed by “Carmen” (mama), Pía (hermana), Jaisson (brother) & Mauricio (Father).      

 
 

   

Mi familia

Mi familia

  

It  is almost 3.30 am…  I wanted to complete this blog and upload some pictures before you go to bed… I know it is already late there in Korea… time difference is really something strange.  But I don’t care… I love you no matter where you are… jajaj!    

So, have  a coool Xmas! My sincere greetings from Chile to you and your family… Did Santa give you the whole pack of kisses I sent you? they were so many… I think they wouldn’t fit inside Santa’s bag.    

Bye Mina!      

Feliz Navidad Mina!    

~ by rubiocroft on December 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “Feliz Navidad”

  1. Oh~such a lovely family! Do you guys really have a dinner at almost early morning like 2 or 3 am??? Is that true? I’ve just heard that south americans have dinner late night. I love your family and think my cunado is cute!!! hahaha There are two beautiful girl and two dandy guys in your cozy house. You know what, I saw my one of friends on TV this X-mas. It was really cool kkk She was my class mates when I went to high school. It seems that nothing change on her appearance. hahaha I’m still looking for your christmas gift; many bessos kkk I need them ..

    My holiday was such a lonely…because you were not here, hahaha
    Anyhow, I hope you get a great laptop and everything goes smoothly with ya!

  2. Hey Matias, here Mina is back. I am not sure you are still using this web blog but this is the only possible way to contact you for now. I miss you a lot. Haven’t heard from you for ages since my absence, right? Want to hear your updates. Talk to me as soon as you check this message please. You can email me anytime: swear6272@daum.net

    xoxo love you!

Leave a comment